ASPA's extensive award program advances excellence in public administration in the simplest and most effective way.

It identifies and illuminates government that works and government employees who work well. Today, it is more important than ever that effective and efficient government be recognized, reinforced, and, whenever possible, imitated with the hope of providing better service to the public.

Likewise, ASPA's awards recognize researchers and professors who have made outstanding contributions to public administration literature and in the classroom.

The awards program provides a forum for the public sector's best and brightest to shine. With its vision of continuous improvement, ASPA structures its awards to provide guidance not only to the Society but to the entire public administration community on the many positive directions toward which it can strive.

2015 winners announced

As part of the Annual Conference, ASPA will recognize dozens of individuals and organizations for their contributions to public service, dedication to ASPA and outstanding accomplishments in the public and nonprofit sectors. Winners will be honored throughout the conference. Please take time to congratulate our winners when you see them at the conference or join us at any of the awards ceremonies.

During the Saturday Plenary, ASPA will honor an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the professional literature of public administration and to a faculty member who has made significant contributions through teaching, research and service.


Dwight Waldo Award: Frank Thompson, Rutgers University at Newark

Charles H. Levine Award: Frank Thompson, Rutgers University at Newark

Walter Mode Scholarship Award is given to a graduate student who is an ASPA member and demonstrates a commitment to a career in public service.
Andrea M. Huston, Walden University

Oveys Mansuri, University of Nebraska at Omaha

Nesta M. Gallas Lecture and Award

This award honors the lifetime achievements of a dedicated public servant and pioneering, innovative leader of society.

Jane Pisano, University of Southern California

ASPA will honor an individual who has made extraordinary contributions to public administration on an international level during Sunday’s Plenary as well as to an individual whose has contributed to public service as an academic and practitioner.

International Public Administration Award: Barbara Kudrycka, Member, European Parliament

Paul P. Van Riper Award: Montgomery Van Wart, University of California, San Bernardino

ASPA will also recognize one of its outstanding Chapters and Sections for its their work engaging members during the year. This year’s Patricia J. Yearwood Chapter/Section Award will be presented to the Sacramento Chapter.

On Monday, March 9 as part of the Donald C. Stone Lecture, the following awards will be presented.

National Public Service Awards: Bill Johnson, Enterprise Florida and David Warm, Mid-Atlantic Regional Council

Elmer Staats Lifetime Achievement Award: Chester A. Newland, University of Southern California

Public Integrity Award: The Volcker Alliance

Public Administration Review, the leading journal in public administration, will honor the best written submissions and book review by a scholar and practitioner. These awards will be presented during ASPA’s Business Meeting on Tuesday, March 10.

Louis Brownlow Award: Shui-Yan Tang, University of Southern California; Richard F. Callahan, University of San Francisco; Mark Pisano, University of Southern California

William and Frederick C. Mosher Award: Zachary W. Oberfield, Haverford College

Burchfield Award for Best Book Review: Martin Lodge, London School of Economics

Chester Newland Award: Dall Forsythe, NYU Wagner Graduate School School of Public Service and Juanita Scarlett, Park Strategies, LLC

H. George Frederickson PA TIMES Best Article Award: Donald C. Stone Service to ASPA Award: Steve Bobes, Miami-Dade County

John Gaston Jr. Award for Public Service Management: Kamyar Guivetchi, California Department of Water Resources

ASPA’s Center for Accountability and Performance (CAP) will recognize organizations and individuals that have helped promote efficient and effective administration through model performance management techniques. These awards will be presented Sunday, March 8 during CAP’s Business Meeting.

Harry Hatry Distinguished Performance Measurement and Management Practice Award:  Organizational Leadership Award: Shelley Metzenbaum

Joseph Wholey Distinguished Scholarship Award: Rusi Sun and Gregg G. Van Ryzin, Rutgers University

Organizational Leadership Award: City of Louisville Office of Performance Improvement




Public Integrity Award 

Dwight Waldo Award 

James E. Webb Award 

Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Exemplary Practice Award

Elmer B. Staats Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Public Service

Paul P. Van Riper Award for Excellence and Service

Gloria Hobson Nordin Social Equity Award 

John W. Gaston, Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Service Management 

International Public Administration Award


Walter W. Mode Scholarship

Wallace O. Keene ASPA Conference Scholarships



Louis Brownlow Award

Laverne Burchfield Award

William E. Mosher and Frederick C. Mosher Award 




The Harry Hatry Distinguished Performance Measurement and Practice Award

CAP Organizational Leadership Awards 

Joseph Wholey Distinguished Scholarship Award





George Frederickson PA TIMES Best Article Award

Patricia J. Yearwood Chapter/Section Newsletter Award

Oveta Culp Hobby Training Awards

Rosslyn Kleeman Keeper of the Flame Award

Donald C. Stone Service to ASPA Award

Chester A Newland Presidential Citation of Merit


Nesta Gallas Award for Exemplary Professional Service in Public Service


The National Public Service Awards

Charles H. Levine Memorial Award for Excellence in Public Administration 

NASPAA/ASPA Distinguished Researcher Award