The Charles Levine Memorial Award for Excellence in Public Administration is a joint award presented by ASPA and the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration (NASPAA). It recognizes a public administration faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching, research and service to the wider community.


Nominations must include a current curriculum vita of the nominee and a one-page statement on each of the following three criteria:

Research: The nominee should have publications in the public administration field which have made an impact on the field. The publications may include books, refereed journal articles, research notes, monographs, or book chapters.

Teaching: The nominee should have a demonstrated record of outstanding teaching. Teaching evaluations, awards and accomplishments of students may be submitted as evidence of teaching ability.

Community and Public Service: Service and contribution to the public sector or non-profit sector is an important factor in the award. Such activity may include service on boards and commissions, government service and service to professional organizations.

To nominate an individual for this award, please complete the nomination form and provide the requested information. To complete a nomination, click here or the link below.

Charles Levine Memorial Award

Charles H. Levine Biography

A native of Hartford, CT, Charles Levine graduated from the University of Connecticut. He received master's degrees in both public administration and business administration from Indiana University, where he also earned a doctoral degree in political science. When he passed away in 1988, he was a professor of public administration at American University and deputy director of the National Commission on the Public Service.

Levine, whose major contributions were in the areas of "cutback" management and federal civil service reforms, began his teaching career at Michigan State University in the late 1960s. He later taught at Syracuse and Cornell universities before joining the faculty at the University of Maryland in 1977. He taught at the University of Kansas for two years. While at the University of Kansas, he received the first Edward O. Stene Award as Distinguished Professorship which is now held by Dr. H. George Frederickson. He then returned to the Washington area in 1983 and joined the staff of the Brookings Institution.

Levine became a senior specialist with the Congressional Research Service at the Library of Congress in 1984. In 1987, he joined the faculty of American University where he was the Distinguished Professor of Government and Public Administration. His books include "Managing Fiscal Stress: The Crisis in the Public Service." published in 1980, and "The Politics of Retrenchment," published in 1981. He also was the founding editor of the journal Administration and Society.
He served on ASPA's National Council and received the Society's William E. Mosher Award for Scholarship.


Previous Winners





 2014  Gregory B. Lewis   Professor                               Georgia State University 
 2013  Janet Denhardt  Chester Newland Professor & Director  Chester A. Newland Professor of Public Administration and Director of the USC Price  School
 2012  Robert Agranoff  Professor Emeritus  Indiana University - SPEA
 2011  Charles K. Coe  Professor  North Carolina State University
 2010  John Nalbandian    University of Kansas
 2009  James H. Svara    Arizona State University
 2008  John M. Bryson    University of Minnesota
 2007  Rosemary O'Leary    Syracuse University
 2006  Norma Riccucci    Rutgers University
 2005  Kenneth J. Meir    Texas A&M University
 2004  Edward T. Jennings Jr.    University of Kentucky
 2003  Robert F. Durant    American University
 2002  Laurence J. O'Toole Jr.  Professor  University of Georgia
 2001  Robert Denhert  Professor  Arizona State University
 2000  Marc Holzer  Professor  Rutgers University - Newark
 1999  Barry Bozeman  Director  Georgia Tech - School of Public Policy
 1998  Donald F. Kettl  Professor  University of Wisconsin
 1997  H. George Fredikson  Distinguished Professor  University of Kansas
 1996  Patricia Ingraham  Professor  The Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, Syracuse University
 1995  Hal Rainey  Professor  University of Georgia
 1994  Irene Rubin  Professor  Northern Illinois University
 1993      David Rosenbloom   Distinguished Professor      American University 
 1992  Francis Burke  Professor  Suffolk University
 1991  James Perry  Professor  Indiana University
 1990  Phillip J. Cooper  Professor  Rockefeller College - SUNY-Albany