This award is presented to persons who have made outstanding contributions to the professional literature of public administration over an extended career. To be eligible the nominee must have had at least one article published in Public Administration Review and a minimum of 25 years of active scholarship that has furthered the discipline of public administration.


To nominate an individual(s) for this award, please complete the nomination form and submit the requested information. To submit a nomination, click the link below. 

Dwight Waldo Nomination Form

Dwight Waldo Biography

Born in 1913 in DeWitt, Nebraska, Waldo earned his bachelor's degree from Nebraska State Teachers' College, his master's from the University of Nebraska, and his doctorate from Yale. He taught for 21 years at the University of California (Berkeley) before joining the Syracuse University faculty in 1967. Waldo was one of the superstars of public administration. He served for many years as editor-in-chief of Public Administration Review, was president of the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration and was widely respected as an author, consultant, and scholar.
For an in-depth discussion of Dr. Waldo's scholarly work, look at two articles in PAR (May/June 1997, Vol 57, No 3., and June/July 1997, Vol 57, No 4.) entitled "Bureaucracy and Democracy: Essays in Honor of Dwight Waldo" and "Modern Comparative Administration: Essays in Honor of Dwight Waldo," both by H. George Fredrickson and Frank Marini. A third article from this series was printed in the June 1997 issue of JPART.

Previous Winners

Year        Winner

2014       Rosemary O'Leary

2013       Marc Holzer

2012       Robert Durant

2011       John M. Bryson

2010       Kenneth J. Meier

2009       Hal Rainey

2008      James L. Perry

2007      Chester A. Newland

2006      Laurence E. Lynn, Jr.

2005      Laurence J. O'Toole

2004      Robert B. Denhardt

2003      Charles Goodsell

2002      John A Rohr

2001      Patricia Ingraham

2000      Deil S. Wright

1999      David H. Rosenbloom

1998      Charles Lindblom

1997      Martha Derthick

1996      Herbert Kaufman

1995      Herbert A. Simon

1994      Ferrel Heady

1993      Robert Golembiewski

1992      H. George Frederickson

1991      Fred W. Riggs

1990      Paul Van Riper

1989      Allen Schick

1988      Harlan Cleveland

1987      Don K. Price

1986      James Fesler

1985      Marshall Dimock

1984      Alan Campbell

1983      Donald C. Stone

1982      Aaron Wildavsky

1981      Frederick C. Mosher

1980      Luther Gulick