This annual award recognizes lifetime achievement and effort in the cause of social equity and is open to all nominees. Candidates may be employees of state, local or federal government; employees in the non-profit sector; or employees of colleges and universities. Elected public officials are also eligible for the award. Employees from the private sector are also eligible for the award, but the emphasis is on achievement and effort in the public sector. Candidates do not have to be ASPA members.

Candidates will be evaluated on three criterias: the impact of their efforts on social equity; the consistency and level of effort on behalf of social equity; the duration of the effort on behalf of social equity.


To nominate an individual for this award, please complete the nomination form and return to with the requested information. Please ensure that attachments are  Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF ONLY.


Gloria Hobson Nordin Nomination Form


Year      Winner

2014       Gene C. Blue

2013      Judge Garry T. Ichikawa

2012      Daniella Levine

2011      Ana Dineen

2010      Alvin Brooks

2009      Claudia Stravato

2008      Addie Mix

2007      Joel M. Levy

2006      Frank Peak

2005      Ruth I. Gray

2004      Malcolm Costa

2003      Bob Knight