This award honors a distinguished foreign scholar or practitioner for significant contributions to public administration in other nations.

To be eligible to be nominated for the award, the individual must meet the following criteria:

  • Holds citizenship in a nation other than the United States of America.
  • Lives and works (primarily) in a nation other than the United States of America.
  • Contributes significantly to the field of public administration as a scholar, practitioner, or both, as demonstrated by publications, other awards and honors, and the testimony of the nominee's colleagues and beneficiaries of the nominee's work.


The nominee must be recommended or sponsored by an individual or institution that is in some demonstrable way affiliated with ASPA (e.g., membership, MOU or other partnership arrangement, collaborative undertaking with ASPA member, host of visit by US public officials, etc.).


To nominate an individual for this award, please complete the nomination form and provide the requested information. To submit a nomination, click here or the link below.

International Public Administration Award


Year     Winner

2014    Ludmila Gajdosova

2013    Geert Bouckaert

2012    Panagiotis Karkatsoulis

2011     Valeria Termini

2010     Seῆor Ignacio Pichardo Pagaza

2009     Pan Suk Kim

2008     Matsuyo Makino

2007     Turkia Ould Daddah

2006     Shuzhang Xia

2005     Peter Boorsma

2004     Oscar Oszlak