For Immediate Release
December 7, 2016
Karen Garrett
Chief of Communications & Marketing
(202) 393-7878

ASPA Selects 2017 Founders’ Fellows

Washington, D.C. -  The ASPA Founders’ Fellows program recognizes outstanding students and new professionals (within three years of their graduation) in the field of public service and public administration.

Following a competitive review process, Founders’ Fellows present their scholarship during the ASPA Annual Conference, receive substantial professional development and networking opportunities, and are paired with a seasoned scholar or practitioner who serves as their mentor for their Fellowship year.

The following individuals have been selected to comprise the 25-member class for 2017:
  • Zachary Bauer (American University)
  • Thaneshwar Bhusal (University of Canberra)
  • David Carter (University of Utah)
  • Kinjal Ben Chaudhari (Pandit Deendayal Petrolium University)
  • Jeff Cook (Colorado State University)
  • Javon Davis (Cookingham-Noll Management Fellow, City of Kansas City, MO)
  • Ana Maria Dimand (Florida International University)
  • Dawnasia Freeman (Long Island University, Brooklyn Campus)
  • Hyesong Ha (Indiana University Bloomington)
  • Brittany Haupt (University of Central Florida)
  • Andrea Headley (Florida International University)
  • Suk Joon Hwang (Florida State University)
  • Orkhan Ismayilov (University of North Texas)
  • Rosa Krewson (Virginia Tech)
  • Zehavit Levitats (Haifa University)
  • Simone Martin (Rutgers University – Newark)
  • Sean McCandless (University of Colorado at Denver)
  • Danna Ovando (John Jay College of Criminal Justice)
  • Michael Overton (University of North Texas)
  • Yali Pang (Virginia Commonwealth University)
  • Ashley Raphael (George Mason University)
  • Assel Shaimerdenova (University of Miami)
  • Jenna Tyler (Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis)
  • Francesca Vega (Texas Tech University)
  • Teshanee Williams (North Carolina State University)

The 2017 Founders' Fellows will receive a complimentary 2017 Annual Conference registration, a year-long mentorship with a seasoned practitioner or senior scholar, and complementary lodging in the conference hotel. Travel to the conference location in Atlanta, meals, and incidentals are the responsibility of the Fellow or sponsoring organization.
“ASPA’s Founders’ Fellows program is one of the best ways for new public administration professionals to expand their networks, participate in groundbreaking research and learn from some of the biggest names in the field,” commented Founders’ Fellows volunteer coordinator Angie Kline. “We’re very pleased with the caliber of the incoming Fellows and look forward to helping them have a productive year in the program.”

ASPA is the leading interdisciplinary public service organization that advances the art, science, teaching and practice of public and nonprofit administration. Learn more here.