Rosslyn Kleeman Keeper of the Flame Award

The “Keeper of the Flame” Award was established in 2000 as a special recognition for “an individual who has continued to provide public service after their official retirement from the profession.” The physical memento is a candlestick. In establishing the new award, the National Public Service Award Executive Committee recognized that many individuals retire from their career positions and continue to serve the public in other volunteer or paid positions. Often, these active retirees become very directly involved in their local community, working with civic or nonprofit organizations. Nominations for the Keeper of the Flame Award follow the timeline and other requirements of the National Public Service Awards. Those who have retired from their public service career as of the nomination deadline will automatically be considered for the Keeper of the Flame Award. The Selection Committee has the option of awarding up to two Keeper of the Flame Awards.
  • The nomination itself may be no more than six pages (including the one-page summary of accomplishments and any attachments)
  • The nomination may include up to five letters of endorsement (at least two are required)
  • Letters of endorsement may be signed by more than one individual
Apply or nominate someone here.

Previous Winners
This award may not be given every year.

Mary Hamilton
Joseph Vass

Thomas D. Lynch

Enid Beaumont

Helen Chin Schlichte

Marcia P. Crowley  
Harriett G. Jenkins, Ed.D. and J.D.

Thomas S. McFee

Philip J. Rutledge
John G. Stone, III

Dan Fenn, Jr.
Elmer B. Staats

Harold Seidman

Kent Mathewson