Call for Nominations: ASPA-Detroit Outstanding Public Service Awards

The Detroit Metropolitan chapter of the American Society for Public Administration (ASPA-Detroit) is calling for nominations for outstanding public service awards that recognize the achievements of exemplary public servants working in the Detroit metropolitan area.

The awards recognize outstanding public servants from local government agencies and their partner organizations who have contributed to the advancement of the public interest and prestige of the public service profession, as well as young professionals dedicated to pursuing successful careers in a local government context. In 2018, ASPA-Detroit is soliciting nominations in the following four categories:
  • Two awards recognizing established local government professionals in the Detroit metropolitan area (an elected official and an executive official);
  • One award recognizing an early career public service professional (within the first five years of his/her career) who shows promise in contributing to the advancement of public service and good governance ideals in the Detroit metropolitan area;
  • One award recognizing an individual or an organization (business or nonprofit) working in partnership with public organizations in the Detroit metropolitan area and whose work has contributed to the quality and prestige of public service.
The outstanding public service awards will be given during the annual meeting of the ASPA-Detroit Metropolitan chapter, to which the awardees will receive a complimentary admission. Chapter membership is not required (although encouraged) for nominees; however, the nominating party must be a current ASPA-Detroit member. If you are not currently a member, please contact ASPA for details on how to join.

Both nominations and self-nominations are welcome and should be sent with a 300-word summary describing the nominee’s achievements to the awards committee comprised of four council members of the ASPA-Detroit Metropolitan chapter:
Jean Porter ([email protected])
Mark Wollenweber ([email protected])
Alisa Moldavanova ([email protected])
Terry Carroll ([email protected])

Nominations are due no later than Friday, March 30, 2018. Awards-related questions may be directed to the members of the awards committee.