Southeastern Conference for Public Administration Call for Nominations

Boorsma Award

The Senator Peter B. Boorsma Award is to honor a practitioner or academician for facilitating over a period of many years the international exchange of knowledge and administrative practices that foster better performance in the public sector. The award symbolizes SECoPA’s recognition of the reality and the implications of the global village on management and performance in the public sector, as well as its commitment to the study and exchange of administrative practices between the USA and other countries.

Committee Members and Evaluation Criteria:
The committee for the 2018 award is composed of James W. Douglas, Wolfgang Drechsler and Allan Rosenbaum, Chair—all former award recipients. The criteria include an outstanding and established record of international activities and direct involvement in the international exchange of theory and good public administration practices. Both practitioners and academicians can be nominated for the award.

Award with a plaque is given during the conference and the conference registration fee is waived.

About Senator Peter B. Boorsma:
Professor Peter B. Boorsma teaches Public Finance in the Netherlands. He is a former Chair of the Dutch Senate Finance Committee and First Vice President of the Dutch Senate. Professor Boorsma was involved in various projects which involved transplanting best public administration practices from the Netherlands to countries in Eastern Europe, South America, Africa, and the Far East. Professor Boorsma is the recipient of ASPA's 2005 International Award. His accomplishments and dedication to improving public administration all over the world brought SECOPA in 2000 to name its own international award after him.

The Boorsma Award Committee will receive and assess all submitted nominations. All individuals or organizations wishing to submit the names of individuals to be considered should provide either a letter describing the individuals qualifications for the award, or a copy of the resume of the individual being proposed, or both.The deadline to submit nominations is July 1st, 2018. The award will be presented at the SECoPA conference in Birmingham, Alabama. September 20-23, 2018. Please send nominations to Professor Allan Rosenbaum of Florida International University at

Past Winners
2001 - Yunwon (Larry) Hwang
2002 - Marc Holzer
2003 - Panagiotis Karkatsoulis
2004 - Arie Halachmi  
2005 - Pan Suk Kim 
2006 - Ian MacDonald
2007 - Thomas Lynch 
2008 - Tom Liou 
2009 - Jae Moon
2010 - Allan Rosenbaum   
2011 - Ludmila Gajdosova
2012 - Howard Balanoff
2013 - M. Peter van der Hoek
2014 - No Award Presented
2015 - Rex Facer
2016 - James W. Douglas
2017 - Wolfgang Drechsler