SWPA Releases 2017 Awards Nomination Call

Do you know an outstanding public manager, scholar or long serving public servant? Nominate them for a National Award from ASPA's Section for Women in Public Administration (SWPA). Nominations will be accepted until Jan. 10, 2017 from all ASPA members or other members of the professional community.

The awards and nomination criteria are:

  1. Joan Fiss Bishop Leadership Award
    Established in 1985, the honoree by example and action, has: promoted increased participation of women in the public service profession; exhibited a defined contribution to increased involvement in the public sector; shown innovative leadership and accomplished professionalism in their public service career, and made a commitment to the profession through current or past ASPA membership.
  2. Marcia P. "Marcy" Crowley Service to SWPA Award
    Originally established in 1991 and rededicated in 2007, the honoree is recognized for: outstanding service to SWPA; their service to the Section for several years; and for making a demonstrated impact on the work of the Section. NOTE: Honoree MUST be a current Section member in good standing.
  3. Rita Mae Kelly Distinguished Research Award
    Originally established in 1991, the honoree is recognized for: their research contribution to gender-related issues; performing research on an issue(s) significant to women’s role in public administration; and making an impact through research on women's lives. NOTE: Honoree is NOT required to be an ASPA or SWPA member.
  4. Julia J. Henderson International Award
    Originally established in 2007, the honoree is recognized for their demonstrated commitment to: international public administration, in particular, or to international public service, in general, by a lifetime of public service; or to careers in international public administration and public service.
NOTE: Honoree is NOT required to be an ASPA or SWPA member. Award nominations should be emailed to swpasection@gmail.com. Please mention the specific SWPA National Award 2017 in the e-mail subject line.

To complete a nomination form, please visit the SWPA website at www.aspaonline.org/swpa or submit a cover letter with the candidate’s award qualifications, including contact information for the nominator. Please attach the candidate’s vita and/or resume with their current contact information. The Awards Committee submits recommendations to SWPA's Board of Directors for final approval. Awards will be presented at the annual SWPA Breakfast during ASPA's Annual Conference in Atlanta.

All nominations must be received by January 10, 2017.  

For more information, please contact Lauren Bock Mullins- Chair, 2017 SWPA National Awards Committee.