For Immediate Release
February 14, 2018
Karen E. T. Garrett
Chief of Communications & Marketing
(202) 585-4313

ASPA Recognizes Outstanding Contributions to Public Service
Practitioners and Scholars to be Honored at 2018 Annual Conference

Washington, DC – More than 30 top practitioners, scholars and organizations will be recognized for their contributions and extraordinary commitment to public service at the American Society for Public Administration’s 2018 Annual Conference in Denver, March 9-13. Individuals will be recognized for their contributions promoting integrity in public service, lifetime scholarship and service to ASPA, among other areas.

This year’s recipients represent a diverse mix of individuals working in the public, nonprofit and academic arenas, as well as the next generation of public servants who are completing their public affairs degrees or beginning their public service careers.

“Public service is about commitment to others. Those dedicated to the public good invest countless hours to making their communities and the world around them a better place to live, work and thrive. As the leading organization dedicated to advancing public service excellence, ASPA stands at the forefront in honoring their work and commitment to a cause greater than their own,” said ASPA Executive Director William Shields.

In recognition of lifetime contributions, scholarship and dedication to the public service and public administration, ASPA will present the following awards:

The National Public Service Awards, recognizing outstanding public servants, will be awarded to Adm. William McRaven (ret.) of University of Texas System, Susan Raufer of Newark Asylum Office, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services and Gen. Mark Welsh, III (ret.) of Texas A&M University, Bush School of Government and Public Service.

The Gloria Hobson Nordin Social Equity Award, honoring lifetime achievements in advancing of social equity, will be presented to Gov. L. Douglas Wilder of Virginia Commonwealth University, L. Douglas Wilder School of Public Affairs.

The Nesta M. Gallas Award, honoring lifetime achievements on the part of a dedicated public servant and pioneering, innovative leader will be presented to Walter Shaub, Jr. of Campaign Legal Center.

The Elmer Staats Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Public Service, honoring an individual’s contributions to public service over a lifetime, will be presented to Paul Posner of George Mason University, Schar School of Policy and Government, who passed away last year.

The Donald C. Stone Service to ASPA Award will be presented to Gloria Billingsley of Jackson State University and Agatha Caraballo of Florida International University.

The Dwight Waldo Award, honoring outstanding contributions to public administration scholarship, will be awarded to Mary Guy of University of Colorado Denver.

The Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Exemplary Practice Award, presented to individuals and organizations who have made outstanding contributions to a more equal society, will be given to Christopher Orlea of the City of Pearland, Texas.

ASPA will present the H. George Frederickson PA TIMES Best Article Award for the writer of the article judged most informative, critical and contributing to new knowledge published in ASPA’s quarterly magazine. This year’s recipient is Elisha Harig-Blaine of the National League of Cities.

The International Public Administration Award, presented to Tamara Nezhina of the National Research University, Higher School of Economics, recognizes her efforts to strengthen the public sector and understanding of public service internationally.

Two student scholarships, the Wallace O. Keene Conference Scholarship Award and the Walter W. Mode Scholarship Award, will be presented. Rabina Bessear of University of Central Florida and Rosalyn Van Buren Foster of University of Southern California—Sol Price School of Public Policy will receive the Wallace O. Keen award; Molly Oudekerk of Virginia Commonwealth University, School of Medicine will receive the Walter W. Mode Scholarship.

ASPA’s Indiana Chapter will be presented with the Patricia J. Yearwood Award for the best Chapter newsletter in 2017.

ASPA is the leading interdisciplinary public service organization that advances the art, science, teaching and practice of public and nonprofit administration. Learn more at