For Immediate Release
December 5, 2017
Karen E. T. Garrett
Chief of Communications & Marketing
(202) 585-4313

ASPA Selects 2018 Founders’ Fellows

Washington, DC -  The American Society for Public Administration (ASPA) Founders’ Fellows program recognizes outstanding students and new professionals (within three years of their graduation) in the field of public service and public administration.

Following a competitive review process, Founders’ Fellows present their scholarship during the ASPA Annual Conference, receive substantial professional development and networking opportunities, and are paired with a seasoned scholar or practitioner who serves as their mentor for their Fellowship year.

The following individuals have been selected to comprise the 25-member class for 2018:

  • Ian Adams (University of Utah)
  • Jessica Alcorn (University of Georgia)
  • Saud Alotaibi (University of North Texas)
  • Lyndsay Bates (University of Baltimore)
  • Neomi Frisch Aviram (University of Haifa)
  • Yuliya Harris (Wayne State University)
  • Josephine Hazelton (California State University—Stanislaus)
  • Nuri Heckler (University of Colorado Denver)
  • Trang Hoang (University of Texas—Dallas)
  • Vaiva Kalesnikaite (Florida International University)
  • Hannah Lebovits (Cleveland State University)
  • Zehavit Levitats (University of Haifa)
  • Sarah McGuire (Piedmont Authority for Regional Transportation)
  • Monica Yamel Naime S Henkel (Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económicas)
  • Julius Nukpezah (Mississippi State University)
  • Blanca Rand (Homeland Security and Emergency Management Agency and George Mason University)
  • Wen-Chi Shie (Florida State University)
  • Iuliia Shybalkina (Syracuse University)
  • Cristina Stanica (University of Delaware)
  • Nathan Teklemariam (Virginia Commonwealth University)
  • Maren Trochmann (University of Colorado Denver)
  • Shilpa Viswanath (Rutgers University—Newark)
  • Nicole Wesley (Louisiana State University)
  • Chaitanya Yadav (University of Texas—Dallas)
  • Sasha Zapata (Rhode Island Quality Institute)

The 2018 Founders’ Fellows will receive a complimentary 2018 Annual Conference registration, a year-long mentorship with a seasoned practitioner or senior scholar and complementary lodging in the conference hotel. Travel to the conference location in Denver, meals and incidentals are the responsibility of the Fellow or sponsoring organization.
“ASPA’s Founders’ Fellows program is one of the best ways for new public administration professionals to expand their networks, participate in groundbreaking research and learn from some of the biggest names in the field,” commented Founders’ Fellows Committee Chair Galia Cohen. “We are very pleased with the caliber of the incoming Fellows and look forward to helping them have a productive year in the program.”

ASPA is the leading interdisciplinary public service organization that advances the art, science, teaching and practice of public and nonprofit administration. Learn more at