Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Exemplary Practice Award

This award is presented to individuals and organizations who have made outstanding contributions to a more equal society. Up to four awards may be presented to individuals and/or organizations representing the following categories: federal, state or local government units; educational institutions; nonprofit institutions; private sector organizations. A narrative, not exceeding five pages in length, will provide the basis for the nomination. Emphasis will be on achievement and results, not simply effort. The following will also apply:
  • Complexity of the problems addressed and organizations directed
  • Severity of the problems addressed
  • Use of original/innovative/effective approaches
  • Impact of contributions
  • Contributions to the attainment of the goals of ASPA's EO/AA national policy positions
Apply or nominate someone here.

Previous Winners
Rhode Island Judiciary

Christopher Orlea

Patricia Robertson

Frances Harriet Williams

Akron Peace Makers

Professor Emeritus Sylvester Murray
U.S. Rep. John Lewis          
Mayor Michael Nutter
Dream Big Community Center

Viola Baskerville (former Virginia State Delegate)
Albany State University
Southwest Georgia Project, Inc.

City of Seattle's Race & Social Justice Initiative (City Government)
Southern Regional Education Board (SREB) (Education)
Community Students Learning Center (Nonprofit)
Millennium Momentum Foundation Inc.