The following individuals have been selected to comprise the class of 2020:

  • Michaela Abbott (College of Charleston)
  • Michael Edward Bednarczuk (Grace College)
  • Christopher Tyler Burks (American University/Urban Analysis)
  • Justine Cameron (University of Massachusetts)
  • Yolanda Macklin Crewe (Virginia Commonwealth University/Virginia Community College System)
  • Maayan Davidovitz (University of Haifa)
  • Jessica Eggleston (University of Louisville)
  • Josiah Gonzales (California Lutheran University/ACTICON, Inc.)
  • Paul Goodfellow (Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation)
  • Jasmine Greene (University of Baltimore)
  • Alison Hewell (Tarleton State University)
  • Alan Kennedy (University of Colorado Denver)
  • David Lehman (Louisiana State University)
  • Huafang Li (Grand Valley State University)
  • Byung Hee Min (Florida State University)
  • Md. Fazle Rabbi (University of Texas at Dallas)
  • Jose Sanchez (University of Illinois—Chicago)
  • Kelly Sherbo (Portland State University/Multnomah County Drainage District)
  • Evelyn Trammell (Florida International University)
  • Yifei Yan (London School of Economics)
  • Julio Zambrano (Indiana University—Bloomington)

The 2020 Founders’ Fellows will receive a complimentary 2020 Annual Conference registration, a year-long mentorship with a seasoned practitioner or senior scholar and complementary lodging in the conference hotel.

Support the Founders' Fellows Program

Are you or your university interested in supporting this year's class of Founders' Fellows? Contact us to find out more! Thank you to the following individuals and organizations for your support of this valuable program!

ASPA Cascade Chapter
ASPA New Jersey Chapter
ASPA Section on Personnel Administration and Labor Relations (SPALR)
ASPA Section on Public Administration Education (SPAE)
ASPA Student and New Administrative Professionals Setion (SNAPS)
ASPA South Florida Chapter
Tom Barth
RaJade Berry-James
Sebawit Bishu
J. Paul Blake
Agatha Caraballo
Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económicas (CIDE)
College of Charleston
Donwe Choi
Paul Danczyk
Jonathan Del Collo
Ana-Maria Dimand
Susan Gooden
Haifa University, Israel
Andrea Headley
Terri Hugie
Vaiva Kalesnikaite
Pankaj Kumar
Louisiana State University
Liang Ma
Public Administration Quarterly
Allan Rosenbaum
Southeastern Conference for Public Administration (SECoPA)
William P. Shields, Jr.
Tarleton State University
University of Colorado Denver
University of Louisville, Department of Urban and Public Affairs
University of Texas at Dallas
Shahrin Upoma

2020 Conference Panels

Friday | 12:45 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. | Salon 1
The State of Social Equity in American Public Administration

Justine Cameron
Project Coordinator and Program Director, University of Massachusetts
A Public Administration Challenge: Social Equity in Education

Jasmine Greene
Doctoral Student, University of Baltimore
(Food) Banking on Connections: The Network that Feeds Maryland

Josiah Gonzales
Graduate Student, California Lutheran University
Closing the Disparity Gap: Labor and Wage Growth

Alison Hewell
Graduate Student, Tarleton State University
Social Equity in Public Administration: Is it Achievable?

Saturday | 10:45 a.m. - Noon | Salon 1
The Promise of Representative Bureaucracy in Government

Huafang Li
Assistant Professor, Grand Valley State University
Diversity Matters

Michael Bednarczuk
Instructor of Political Science, Grace College
Crowding Out or Building Up? Religiosity and Community Service Among Public Servants

Evelyn Trammell
Doctoral Student, Florida International University
Representative Bureaucracy in Local Government Contracting: Examining Supplier Diversity Policy Implementation

Julio Zambrano
Doctoral Student, Indiana University Bloomington
Attitudes Toward Sectoral Diversity in Collaborative Settings: Linking Collaborative Governance and Citizen Co-Production

Saturday | 3:15 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. | Salon 1
Contemporary Issues in Public Administration

Christopher Tyler Burks
Doctoral Student, American University
Who Will Control the Smart City? Imperative Public Policies for Digital Democracy

Yolanda Crewe
Doctoral Student, Virginia Commonwealth University
The Impact of Registered Apprenticeships on the Middle-Skills Gap

Paul Goodfellow
Environmental Program Specialist, Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation
State-Level Boundary Organizations and Climate Change Policy Initiatives

Alan Kennedy
Doctoral Student, University of Colorado Denver
Changing the Narrative: The Second Amendment and Gun Policy

David Lehman
Graduate Student, Louisiana State University
On the Wicked Problem of Climate Change

Sunday | 3:15 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. | Salon 1
Reflecting on the Challenges and Scope of Public Administration

Jessica Eggleston
Graduate Student, University of Louisville
Key Challenges of Public Administration in a Time of Instability

Byung Hee Min
Doctoral Student, Florida State University
Dynamics of Organizational Learning in Service to the Public: Key Challenge and Solution Approaches

Jose Sanchez
Doctoral Student, University of Illinois—Chicago
The Paradox of Postmodern Public Administrations

Yifei Yan
Social Policy Fellow, London School of Economics
In Need of a Better Understanding on Policy Capacity

Monday | 2:15 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.  | Salon 1
Building Trust and Accountability in Public Administration

Michaela Abbott
Staff Assistant to the Board of Trustees, College of Charleston
Representative Bureaucracy as a Solution to Public Distrust in Government

Maayan Davidovitz
Doctoral Student, University of Haifa
Trust and the Coping Mechanisms of Street-Level Bureaucrats

Md Fazle Rabbi
Doctoral Student, The University of Texas at Dallas
Too Much or Too Little? Does Public Administration Need an Accountability Balance?

Kelly Sherbo
Doctoral Student, Multnomah County Drainage District/Portland State University
Rebuilding Trust in Governance: The Case of Special Districts