Section for Women in Public Administration

SWPA is one of the largest and most active ASPA Sections with a growing membership and full range of activities and programs for its members. We welcome women and men to work together on projects and programs that promote participation and recognition of women at all levels and areas of the public sector.

SWPA members and leaders have developed the following Action Agenda which focuses on key membership priorities:
  • Enhance the value of SWPA membership to promote membership retention
  • Attract and engage new members
  • Continue diversity and inclusion efforts in both membership and member resources
  • Provide excellent, relevant career and leadership experiences (such as the Transitions program)
  • Accelerate outreach to ASPA Chapters, Sections, and national organizations to increase SWPA impact and networking opportunities for members
  • Emphasize issues of significance to women and minorities with supportive resources and advocacy


Leadership and Contact Details

Chair: Dr. Helisse Levine, Professor and Director MPA Program, Long Island University (LIU), The Roosevelt School, Brooklyn, New York. (email)
Vice Chair: Dr. Charlene M.L. Roach, Faculty of Social Sciences and Head of Public Management Department of Political Science, The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine Campus, Trinidad and Tobago
Immediate Past Chair: Dr. Helisse Levine
Secretary: Dr. Kris Major, Professor and Director of Public Administration and Nonprofit programs, Hamline University School of Business
Treasurer: Dr. Elaine Yu Li, Professor and Director in the Department of Public Management at the City University of New York—John Jay College

Annual Section Membership Dues: $25