ASPA's annual awards program recognizes leaders across public administration practice and scholarship each year.

Our 2024 Call for Nominations is closed.

Awards committees will meet in the coming weeks to review all nominations and make determinations. Those chose for recognition will be notified via email around the end of the year. All honorees will be presented with their awards during ASPA's 2024 Annual Conference, taking place in person April 12-16 in Minneapolis.

Contact ASPA Program Associate Jordan Thomas for more information.

Next year's call for proposals will open in September 2024. While each award category is different and requires materials according to the profile of the category, the following are general guidelines for materials you will need to prepare:

  • Biographical details for the nominee
  • Letters of recommendation
  • Description of accomplishments that confirms the nominee's eligibility for the award and/or why they are deserving of the award
  • Nominee's CV or resume
  • References
  • Connection to ASPA and service to the organization, if appropriate

Those applying or nominating for scholarships should be prepared to describe the nominee's career goals, value of public service, involvement in ASPA and other awards received.

Historical details about each award can be viewed by scrolling down this page and clicking on associated links. 

The Center for Accountability and Performance (CAP) entertains a separate call for nominations for its awards. Please visit their website for more details.


ASPA Chapters and Sections also administer awards programs for their geographic region or subject area. Click here to find out more about Section awards, or click here to access the list of Chapters to contact them for more details. 

Joint Awards

ASPA collaborates with NAPA and NASPAA to provide up to four awards each year. Click on the links below to view the history of the award.

The National Public Service Awards 

Rosslyn Kleeman Keeper of the Flame Award 

NASPAA/ASPA Distinguished Researcher Award 

Charles H. Levine Memorial Award for Excellence in Public Administration 

Chapter and Section Awards

Click on the links below to view details about each award available for Chapters and Sections.

Oveta Culp Hobby Training Award

Patricia Yearwood Chapter/Section Newsletter Awards

ASPA Student Awards or Scholarships

Students of all kinds are welcome to apply for an ASPA scholarship. Click on the links below to learn about each option.

Walter W. Mode Scholarship

Wallace O. Keene ASPA Conference Scholarships

ASPA Awards

ASPA awards several awards each year. Click on the links below to view the history of each award.

Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Exemplary Practice Award 

Nesta M. Gallas Award for Exemplary Professionalism in Public Service 

John W. Gaston, Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Service Management 

International Public Administration Award 

Gloria Hobson Nordin Social Equity Award 

Public Integrity Award 

Elmer B. Staats Lifetime Achievement Award for Distinguished Public Service

Donald C. Stone Service to ASPA Award

Paul Van Riper Award for Excellence and Service 

Dwight Waldo Award

CAP Awards

ASPA's Center for Accountability and Performance (CAP) presents four award categories each year. Click on the links below to view more details. Please note that CAP offers a separate award nomination process, as well. Please visit their website for more details.

Organizational Leadership Awards

Emerging Leaders Award of Excellence

The Harry Hatry Distinguished Performance Management Practice Award

The Joseph Wholey Distinguished Scholarship Award 

PAR Awards

ASPA's premier journal, Public Administration Review, presents four categories of awards each year. Click on the links below to learn more about each.

Laverne Burchfield Award

Louis Brownlow Award

Chester Newland Award

William E. Mosher and Frederick C. Mosher Award